top of page

September 11th, 2001


September 11th, 2001. It is a day that will live in infamy forever. It was a day of panic, a day of sadness and a day of anger. I was only in the second grade and four days away from turning eight years old. It was also almost an exact year since my fathers tragic car accident(September 14th, 2001). At that age it is difficult to comprehend what is going on and the impact of such a tragic event. My second grade class was full of seven and eight year old, along with my teacher and the teacher assistant. North Tower was struck by the first plane at 8:46 a.m.. Within minutes, our teacher had rolled out the class TV to turn on the news and see what was happening. Soon after, at 9:03 a.m., Flight 175 crashed into the South Tower at 590 mph. A site that will be burned into my mind for life. The teacher and assistant had burst into tears as I and fellow students watched in confusion. What just happened? Why are my teachers crying? Why did that just happen on the TV? I mean how is a seven or eight year old supposed to understand what was happening? How was I supposed to understand the magnitude of such an attack, an attack that cost 3000 lives. We as a class had yet to learn cursive writing. But it still seemed like such an impossible event. As if it were just a movie. There was no way the U.S. could be attacked on our own soil. What started as panic, anger, confusion, sadness and the thousand other words to describe that day and after, turned into a time where bravery, honor and patriotism was shown above all else. The bravery of ordinary citizens inside the building risking and giving their lives to save as many others as they could to the citizens and the amazing first responders who risked and gave their lives to rescue so many people. It was such a horrific day, yet brought out such amazing aspects of people and united this country like never before. It is a day I will never forget. I will never forget where I was or watching that plane crash into the South Tower. I will never forget those who lost their lives, those who lost their lives saving others and I will always those fallen and those who made it for their bravery.

I want to personally thank every citizen and every first responder that gave their life for thousands of others and thank those who are still with us today. Those are true heroes to remember forever.

41 views0 comments
bottom of page